HOME is in Jurong East for Esna Ong

Esna Ong’s HOME looks at the Housing Development Board estate of Jurong East.

Esna, a 15-year old student at Raffles Girl School, is currently studying film at school, and this is her first film.

Esna writes,

An aunt of mine, knowing I had a passion for film, told me about this film contest. After seeing the theme of Where The Heart Is, I immediately wanted to send in an entry. I had a place where I really connect with, and that’s the Jurong area in Singapore where I have grown up in.

I thought it would be a good retrospective to showcase the changes that the place has gone through, as well as what has remained after so many years that has given it its identity.

So I sat down and made a list of these things and set off around the neighborhood with my Canon DLSR to all those dear places. During editing, I decided to voiceover the script (initially in English) in Mandarin because I felt that it would better bring out the heartland feel of the film, and later got my brother to record a simple acoustic tune for the background track

Looking at the completed piece of work, I was pleased with it as I didn’t mean for it to be something large-scale. But I also wish that I could have had more time to spend crafting a more in-depth script and to work on more advanced technical aspects.

Esna’s film is one of 19 films from the competition, screening at the 2011 Sydney Film Festival, in a special series of open air showings in Martin Place.

The screenings accompany the Australian premiere of TIONG BAHRU, the latest in the awardwinning CIVIC LIFE series of films by Joe Lawlor and Christine Molloy.

Visit the WHERE THE HEART IS vimeo channel here.

Leave a Reply

